Taoist Shaman - Practices from the Wheel of Life


Click to hear author reading from the Chapter Shamanic Practice
Taoist shaman taoist medicine wheel tao of the shaman practices wheel of life

TAOIST SHAMAN - paperback
by Mantak Chia & Kris Deva North, published 2011 by Destiny Books and available from
Universal Tao Publications UK,
£14.97 + p&p

taoist shaman tao shaman shamanism kris deva north taoist medicine wheel

by Kris Deva North, contains the essence, rites and mysteries for shamanic initiation and practice on which Taoist Shaman is based.
First published 2010 as an e-book by Universal Tao Publications UK

Shamanic Initiation and Training
with author Kris Deva North at Universal Healing Tao UK

"This is the latest and some say greatest book by Mantak Chia and Kris Deva North, new, refreshingly different, with revealing stories of the Healing Warriors and Hidden Masters - and deeper secrets coded in the text.

The shamanic roots of Taoist practice:

Explains the principles of the Taoist Medicine Wheel, including the Five Elements, the animals of the Chinese zodiac, and the trigrams of the I Ching;
Includes exercises from the Wheel of Love to access the Tao of Ecstasy;
Contains beautifully illustrated teaching stories about the Eight Immortals.

Thousands of years ago the immortals known as the Shining Ones shipwrecked on the Chinese coast. Passing their shamanic practices--such as ecstatic flight and how to find power animals and spirit guides--on to the indigenous people, they also taught them the wisdom of the Medicine Wheel. From the Taoist Medicine Wheel came the principles of Yin and Yang, the Five Elements, the Eight Forces, the Chinese zodiac, and the I Ching. The Taoist Medicine Wheel can also be found at the foundation of traditional Chinese medicine and the esoteric sexual practices of Taoist Alchemy.
In the Taoist Shaman, Masters Mantak Chia and Kris Deva North explain the shamanic principles of the Taoist Medicine Wheel, how it is oriented on the Five Elements rather than the Four Directions, how it relates to the twelve animals of the Chinese zodiac and the trigrams of the I Ching, and how it aligns with the Eight Forces of the Pakua. Through illustrated teaching stories, the authors show how the energetic principles of each of the Eight Forces are reflected in the Eight Immortals. Revealing the wheel’s application to sacred sexuality, they offer exercises from the “Wheel of Love” to strengthen and deepen relationships as well as providing a means to access the Tao of Ecstasy.

Putting Taoist Shamanic Techniques into Practice
Chapter 1 Taoist Shamanic Tradition--from Mystery to History
Chapter 2 The Taoist Medicine Wheel
Chapter 3 The Five Elements
Chapter 4 The Eight Forces
Chapter 5 The Twelve Animals
Chapter 6 I Ching Hexagrams and Daily Life
Chapter 7 Shamanic Practice
Chapter 8 Spirit Guides
Chapter 9 Comparison with other Traditions
Chapter 10 Creating Power Fields
Chapter 11 The Wheel of Healing
Chapter 12 Turning the Wheel of Love

Click for an overview of Taoist Shamanism

Shamanic Initiation and Training